Entertainment News

Leona Lewis Talks London Crime

Posted on: October 3, 2008

  • In: Uncategorized
  • Comments Off on Leona Lewis Talks London Crime

Despite her sudden rise to fame Leona Lewis has stuck by her boyfriend’s side and the two were spotted looking cute as they left the Harvey Nichols store in London, England earlier today after a mini shopping spree.

Leon recently spoke out to the press about rising youth crime in London.  She said: “So many of my friends have been mugged or been involved in incidents in one way or another. The problem is complicated. My parents both work within that youth field. A few years ago all these youth clubs were shut down in Hackney. It means you have kids out on the street with nowhere to go and nothing to do, and it’s a recipe for trouble.”

Even though the streets are becoming more and more unsafe each day, Leona said that she has no plans to move away but instead suggest the city builds more facilities for the kids.

“We need to think about building new facilities. It’s something I’d love to get involved with. I actually love Hackney. I don’t want to see it get worse and worse. When the time came for me to get my own place, I couldn’t think of anywhere I’d rather be.”

