Entertainment News

Cate Blanchett Talks Plastic Surgery and Children

Posted on: December 30, 2008

  • In: Uncategorized
  • Comments Off on Cate Blanchett Talks Plastic Surgery and Children

In a recent interview with Vanity Fair magazine, actress Cate Blanchett talked about her decision not to get plastic surgery.

“I haven’t done anything, but who knows. Andrew [Upton] said he’d divorce me if I did anything.”

“I’m not a trophy. He likes the vessel, but he also wants to make sure the vessel is full.”

Cate also explained that she didn’t grow up in a world full of plastic (aka Los Angeles) so what really shaped her opinion of going fake.

“I’m not a spokesperson against the world of injectables,” The 39-year-old actress says. “If you grow up in an environment where your mother gets you a boob job when you turn 18, what hope is there? But I didn’t grow up in that world.

She also acknowledged that being in the entertainment industry means that you have to stay on top of your looks which could become obsessive at any moment.

“The reason I went to train as an actor was that I was interested in it for the long haul,” she adds. “You can become very self-obsessed, but you’ve got to keep looking outward.”

Having three boys would certainly make most women go under the knife but Cate says that she’s enjoying the process her body goes through after giving birth to each of her children.

“When you’ve had children, your body changes; there’s history to it. I like the evolution of that history; I’m fortunate to be with somebody who likes the evolution of that history.”

Speaking of children, Cate says that she and husband Andrew haven’t ruled off having more in the future.

“Who knows? Don’t close those doors. The world is very overpopulated, but we do make nice ones,” she says. “They all look like Andrew. To say he has dominant genes would be an understatement.”

